About Us

Home / About / About Us

Our Vision

Every person in Porter County engages in an effective waste reduction lifestyle.

The Recycling & Waste Reduction District of Porter County is the local government authority for information about recycling, yard waste and household hazardous waste services that serves the residents and businesses of Porter County.

We are one of 70 solid waste management districts created by the State of Indiana in 1990 with the adoption of House Enrolled Act 1240. Each solid waste management district is funded differently and provides slightly different services to serve the distinct needs of its population.

Our Mission Statement

The Recycling & Waste Reduction District of Porter County is an agency dedicated to improving the environment and quality of life by providing services and educational programs which help residents reduce, reuse, and recycle. 


Our Funding

We are funded primarily by an annual $20 user fee added onto the county tax bill of each household and business. The fee averages out to a little more than $8 per year per person in Porter County.

Our Governance

Our Board of Directors is made up of the three county commissioners, the mayor and a councilperson from the largest municipality, a county councilperson, and a third municipal representative appointed by the county commissioners.

The Board is responsible for working with staff to set District policies and standards as well as perform as accountable elected officials regarding such.

Additionally, the Board appoints individuals to the Citizens Advisory Committee, an intermediary and advisory panel, which works with the staff to monitor District services and make programmatic recommendations to the Board of elected officials.

The Citizens Advisory Committee members are made up of Porter County citizens who possess a passion for the environment and a desire to be part of a team, which can affect change.